Flashback: Melrose Cup victory 2005

melrose cup edited
: Fiji’s William Ryder (L), Waisale Serevi and his son Waisale Serevi Jr (age 4) celebrate with the trophy after Fiji won the Melrose Cup at the Hong Kong Rugby World Cup Sevens, 20 March 2005. Fiji beat New Zealand to take the 2005 World Cup Rugby Sevens title. AFP PHOTO/TED ALJIBE (Photo: TED ALJIBE/AFP/Getty Images)

Fiji defeated New Zealand in the 2005 Rugby World Cup Sevens to take the Melrose Cup for the second time, becoming the only team to have won the award twice.

2005 Fiji national rugby sevens team

melrose cup
Fiji qualified for the quarter-finals unbeaten and defeated Argentina 22-14. Serevi scored the winner at sudden-death against England for a 24-19 win in the semi-final.

Can Fiji it again this year?

Leave a Reply